Weird Correspondences

There’s a recent hit song on the radio from the rather talented band Muse that has been kinda bothering me. Not because I don’t like it (I actually rather do) but because it has struck me from the very first time I heard it as reminiscent of something else…

Something that begins with the phrase, “It is the Nineties, and there is time for… Klax!”

Here’s the muse song’s video.

Now, the Klax music was from an 8-bit NES game rather than a modern, highly produced piece so of course it’s in a different league, but its vibe still feels quite related to me. Specifically the “Ledfut” song from the game. Maybe I’m crazy (or maybe there’s no maybe) but still, every time I hear that song I remember Klax and the maddening sound (from which the game got its name)  the horrible flippy little tiles made as they ramped down looking to make a distinctive “Hwaaah!” scream as they plummeted to their demise.

I played a lot of Klax in my time.

So here’s some of the Klax stuff too. And yeah, I can totally make the Klax hand gesture, even though I’ve never understood whether it has any other significance than just being a logo for the game.

The second one is the title song and ends with that horrible 8-bit scream. 😉 It isn’t the song that reminds me so much of Muse, but it’s still distinctive.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Weird Correspondences”

  1. DJ Says:

    You are right about the Klax and Muse’s song but don’t you also notice the Dr. Who theme in there?

    • casewerk Says:

      You’re totally right. I’ve never been a frequent viewer of Dr. Who (though I have enjoyed most of the episodes I’ve watched), but yeah… it does have a similar vibe.

Leave a Reply

