Warhammer + Victorian Style Steampunk = ?

I am a restless little git that has a bug for either creating game settings whole cloth or modifying existing ones, and I am also the sort of designer/folder/spindler/mutilator that for some reason likes to have multiple plates spinning at once. Therefore, I’ve decided to add another little thought experiment project to my current Legend of the Archons system creation. If I actually play the thing, I’ll probably use a slightly modified version of LoA’s FATE system.

But what is it that I have decided to create? I’m so glad that you asked, even if you did not.

I have decided to take the world of Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay and advance it up to a Victorian time period, and therefore a pretty solidly steampunk tech level rather than a realiztic victorian tech level (hey, this is Warhammer, after all – everything always has to be dialed up to 11). It will be specifically a variant on the first-edition WFRP world where my ancient and longrunning WFRP campaign, the Legacy of the Gods, is set, and takes some major historical events (and their speculative future consequences) of that campaign into account. Also, it will feature a fusion of magic and (mad)science a bit like a more advanced and stable cousin to Skaven Warlock Engineering crossed with steam engines. Provisionally I am calling this magitek cousin “Rune Engineering,” though if anybody has a better name for that then I’m certainly game. Note that the campaign world in question was one that we started playing prior to the introduction of things like imperial steam tanks and dwarf ironclads, so the steampunk elements that we do currently see in WFB’s Empire don’t exist in the history of this Warhammer World variant though of course similar things will exist in this more Victorian version where they’re a trifle less anachronistic in feel.

I’m sure that I’ll post a lot more about it to this blog, because that’s how I roll. Given that I’m also planning on posting about the abortive AD&D 3.5 setting I designed a few years back but never posted anywhere online, that will make 3 concurrent design projects being blathered about on my blog. Yay!

Anyhow, on to the point of this post.

I’ve been trying to decide what to call my warhammer steampunk project, and have a number of ideas but I’m not necessarily satisfied with them. Hence, a poll!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Warhammer + Victorian Style Steampunk = ?”

  1. Clint Emsley Says:

    Steamhammer sounds like the name of a wrestler. But I almost voted for it anyway.

Leave a Reply

