On Utterly Awesome Wrongness

At [info]kyu_kage‘s request in a discussion thread, I am sharing this (which is crossposted from a certain other place) Fear not, I’m getting to a point here.

Playing a mutant ankylosaurus time traveler with a winchester rifle was actually enough to overcome the suck of the system in which I was playing him to make for a wonderfully entertaining and absurd gaming session about which I only cringe slightly when I say that I enjoyed it immensely. So Kyu asked for a bit of explanation.

I don’t know that it really bears explaining, but he was a mutant ankylosaurus allright, which had been brought as a wee nipper from the past, mutated up for reasons that were murky at best and set loose on the timestream to wreak awesomeness wherever he went with a duster and rifle straight out of the Old West. That game played like something out of octaNe – heck, if I were to revisit that game I’d probably use octaNe or something similar to run it.

Oh, not to mention that he had his martial arts training (hey, it was palladium trime travel goodness! of course he had absurd martial arts training!) out of Ninjas & Superspies. The first adventure I played the time-travelling dino in, he and his pals had to storm a ninja fortress in an island off the coast of Japan… the sneaky gits had a tough time with the big guy tail-ripping his way through the rice paper screens their assassins were hiding behind and gunning them down with a lever-action rifle. Or in the big battle at the end when he and his pals had to take on the quirky boss squad and his opponent was an uber-samurai type. A single spinning, leaping tail-club strike later, there was one less samurai to worry about.

(edit: I wanted to share what [info]mysticjuicer had to say in his response to this part of my crosspost, “I keep imagining this dinosaur dispatching another ninja with a well placed rifle shot and then screaming unintelligibly, while cowboy movie dialogue appears in the subtitles.” Why do I share that? because it is so awesome that I wish I had thought of it. Now I’ll probably have to draw an homage to the scene.)

Man, game sessions run while one is in junior high can be completely fantastic in their utter, absurd wrongness. Good times.

Which leads to where I’m going here. While I’m big on high drama, immersion and deep roleplaying-as-art ideas too, I must confess that I have a soft spot for knock-down, drag out awesome for the sake of awesome, where the Rule of Cool forces common sense, suspension of disbelief, physics, and basic reality to bow before the altar of pure psychotronic escapism.

So, dear readers, I’ve shared an instance of this from my adolescent gaming days. If by some chance you’d like to share an instance where simulation and common sense gave up in the face of some bizarre circumstance, creature or event and, even though what went down was patently implausible and ridiculous, the session was awesome and everybody had a great time… well, the comments section on this blog are one place where you’re welcome to share it.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

