SAD: Female Fomorian


SAD: Female Fomorian
by *uhlrik on deviantART

I’m provisionally calling this particular Fomorian by the name Rahann, as her look is modified and stripped-down from the designs I did for a Khornegor character of the same name from WFRP. I’ve decided to drop the white-eyes thing that was part of her original design, partially because it’s a Khorne thing and partially because The Fiend has the same thing going on sometimes (even though I created The Fiend a decade after creating the original Rahann), and because several of Uhlrik’s iterations have done similar things when they lost their tempers (heck, the new version might too). So yeah, thinning out the overuse of that motif.

Below is a full-body design sketch of the same character I fairly recently created, where I was doodling different possible parts of her design, debating the mane or no mane thing back and forth with myself, and so on. If nobody decides to run a character similar to this in LoA, I think she’ll have to show up at some point as an NPC; I just think she’s cool. I think I need to put a bit more in the way of ornamentation in her mane. A couple feathers maybe? Also, I’m thinking some piecemeal armor, like a pauldron and a couple other pieces might be a good look for her. General feedback on her design is more than welcome – it’s certainly not finalized yet and probably won’t be until such time as she appears in a game post.


Rahann Design Sketch
by *uhlrik on deviantART

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “SAD: Female Fomorian”

  1. meta4life Says:

    It’s funny in that weird synchronistic kind of way that I no sooner decided I needed to look up your LJ to find your review/summation of those other game systems than you pop up at the top of my Flist. πŸ˜‰

    I can’t see anything in the first sketch — probably need to turn the brightness on my monitor up again….

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Sorry it’s so dark. 😦 Maybe if you click on the image in the DA page so it zooms in that might help?

    BTW, I’ll be posting more reviews soon, though before I do I’m running a statistical breakdown of how some of those related system I mentioned before handle a couple of standard tasks at a competent but nonheroic level of skill. (stabbing a guy with a sword, popping a cap in a guy, and “generic task”). That’ll help me organize my thoughts a bit in my process of looking at Unisystem, BESM and Fuzion specifically since they’re conceptually related systems.

  3. meta4life Says:

    Not your fault, sweet — my monitor is old, and going. πŸ™‚

    It was your review of Donjon that got me thinking, actually. I’m doing some more looking into it, asking around, and will probably order a copy this evening to look at, at the least. For online (text-based) play, it sounds like it could be about right — and I can make up the rest. πŸ™‚

  4. uhlrik Says:

    It’s a really cool system. I bought the PDF version, and do not for a second regret the purchase even if I never get a chance to actually use it.

    Getting a look at the magical system for inspiration alone was worth the cost.

  5. uhlrik Says:

    That aside, what do you think of the drawing(s)?

  6. meta4life Says:

    I cranked up the brightness to 100% on your DA site and though it washed out the sketch pretty hard, I still got the general idea.

    So this is one of your gameworld races? Wolf-human cross?

    The sketch itself is well done, of course. πŸ™‚ Now I’m interested in substance.

  7. uhlrik Says:

    It is one of my gameworld races, yes… however, they’re a highly variable people, so they don’t all look canine. They’re sort of mortal/fae hybrids, essentially mortal beings born infused with the energy of the spirit world (particularly a realm called Autumn). The Fomori (or Fomorians, whichever plural you prefer) are for the most part a jumble of human, bestial and less identifiable features, kind of a build-your-own-critter.

  8. uhlrik Says:

    Oh, and note that in the lower drawing her feet are cloven hooves, not wolf-paws. πŸ™‚

  9. bosantibe Says:

    She’s kind of got a Pocahantas/Deer Woman thing going on.

  10. uhlrik Says:

    That’s an interesting take. I rather like, actually.

Leave a Reply

