SAD: The Fiend


SAD: The Fiend
by *uhlrik on deviantART

So I decided to produce another sketch depicting The Fiend. I wanted it to be something with a very different, darker and more foreboding feel than my other depiction of her – even though that one had pentagrams and things, it’s bright and comic-booky. Though this is really a sketch and far less polished than that one, I think it’s just as communicative. Never mind that Brigitte is (in general) far and away more modest – I’d say that her darker side is more on the fore and so some of her civilized, cultured sensibilities are suppressed. In either case, no gawking. She’s up to no good.

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “SAD: The Fiend”

  1. lucretiasheart Says:

    oooh! Nice!

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Not quite the word I’d have used for a vicious, nasty, nekkid demon-girl, but I’ll take it! šŸ™‚

  3. lucretiasheart Says:

    Ooh– Nice and NASTY!

    …that better? =^P

  4. uhlrik Says:

    Much. Thank you!

  5. meta4life Says:

    It just amazes me how you can just whip these out like this. OR so it seems to me, just getting to see the end result of a SAD.

    I get the feelings this bodes ill for someone. šŸ™‚ Hope it’s the bad guys.

  6. bosantibe Says:

    I had a fun little idea that might fit a Fiend type of character. I thought of it scientifically but it would be almost as cool magically. Remember that whole “get my earthly remains broken down into raw carbon and condensed into a very small diamond” thing that was going on for a while (and maybe still is for all I’ve noticed)?

    Wouldn’t it be fun to have a demon-y sort do that to all of his vanquished victims, thus slowly adding to the length of his/her diamond blade?

  7. uhlrik Says:

    That’s an exceedingly cool concept.

  8. bosantibe Says:

    It’s odd to admit, but on the subject of fiends I’m actually becoming rather intrigued with the new version of D&D. A friend and I decided to make characters: I decided he’d be a Dragonkind (Warlord, he loves that sort of thing) and he decided I’d be a Tiefling (Warlock, I went with). Man do I love the fact that they have the unfathomable dark power element from the 3.5 Warlock class stacked with all the intended awesome flavor of the Alienist. It’s neat to have a class that draws it’s power from curses, dark prophecies and the alignment of dark stars and the vergence of power that flows between them in a cold, emotionless void. Better than the hexblade ever wanted to be, too. I’ll let you know what I discover after we’ve tried it. I have noticed right off, though, that the system and specifically the class actually make it feasible to intimidate someone of equal power to your party into surrendering, which I think is the coolest possible use for a character class with the might of that which should not be known backing it. I don’t know why my alliteration is running away with me so much, if not the fact that I’ve not seen such a Cthulhu-appropriate core class in a major game yet that manages to evoke cinematic images in my mind.

    Also, I had an Evil Health Insurance Plan to discuss with you.

  9. uhlrik Says:

    That character class/race combination sounds cool. I’m not planning to pick up the new DnD, as a lot of its core ideas are inimical to my game goals.

    Tell me more about the insurance.

  10. bosantibe Says:

    This can work for pretty much any expansionist empire. Promise the soldiers in your army that their families will be well taken care of in the event of their signing a disclaimer and go the whole nine yards, offering status in addition to money; these benefits take place immediately. The trick is that the soldiers who sign off on them become cultural icons of the war engine and are therefore contractually obligated to be career military from that moment on and are under NDA to everyone else, especially family members.

    When these soldiers inevitably die, raise them as intelligent undead (see Libris Mortis) and cloak them in illusion magics such as Veil (and gentle repose for good measure). Give them fantastic arms and armor and use them as propaganda pieces for military dedication, indefatigability and unbeatability. Did I mention illusion magics? Great, so if it becomes necessary to dispose of the broken zombie/skeletal remains or just to send them away because they’ve done enough work, a canny officer with a good grasp of the psyche of the departed soldier can break it to the family in his guise why he has to go away for a long time. Sorcerers, with their knack for lying, might be kept on retainer for this purpose.

    Evil health care keeps everyone feeling safe at home.

  11. uhlrik Says:

    awesome and oh-so-wrong. It requires a setting with a lot of magical oomph for maintaining that many intelligent undead, but it’s certainly a clever ruse.

Leave a Reply

