Pax Imperialis! For “Real!”

Some of you may remember the abortive and small-scale attempt I made at running a 40KRP game via LiveJournal, but most likely won’t. I deliberately kept the group very small – too small, it turns out, for the level of activity to sustain it effectively. However, the storylines were interesting enough to resurrect them, and I’ve been discussing doing so with people that had showed some interest or been involved previously.

I’ve been futzing around with a variant system for 40K roleplaying for a while, and I’ve started actually working on it again recently after a somewhat lengthy hiatus. Huzzah!

Also, I’ve been inspired by a certain other game I’m playing in to try facilitating an online game of it via a forum. However, while that other (and most excellent, btw) game is fairly structured and focused on a single group of heroes, this one is less so, and will in all probability focus on several disparate groups within the same setting and have an overarching dynamic metaplot that all can influence. It will also allow a certain amount of shared narrative control (IE players can, within certain bounds, create and run scenes and NPCs).

In brief, Pax Imperialis will focus mostly on internal conflict within the Imperium of Man, and as such will focus primarily on Human characters though mutants and similar ne’er-do-wells are certainly welcome.

I’ve got several players that are definitely signing on (or have already done so) and I am now extending an invitation to you all as well.

The game has an ever-expanding wiki and is played primarily via the Pax Imperialis Forum.

There is some allowance for playing by messenger programs or even the forum’s own built-in chat and then posting edited paragraph-form transcripts to the forum, if time and interest in doing so are there.

If you want in, come on over and toss me a line.

A few basic guidelines can be found here on the wiki and in the game discussion segment of the forum.

5 Responses to “Pax Imperialis! For “Real!””

  1. uhlrik Says:

    Consider yourself hooked up.

  2. uhlrik Says:

    That’s perfectly okay, and I’d love to have you along. Actually, the line is “In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war.” 😉

    I designed the section of the setting that this particular game will take place in specifically to allow for newcomers to the setting to get their feet wet without having to know beforehand how the inner workings of lots of wierd groups work. I’ve also provided a number of resources to help folks get it figured out, and I love talking about this geektude.

  3. creativedv8tion Says:

    Well, I don’t know dick (or tom or harry) about WH40K, but I’d be interested. I’ll start looking at your resources and then inundate you with questions, I’m sure.

  4. uhlrik Says:

    Plus, I’m sure I’ll be asking you some questions about running a forum-based game since this is a first for me.

  5. creativedv8tion Says:

    Well, you shoulda asked me first. 😛 (yes, I commented before I saw you had the forum up already.)

Leave a Reply

Pax Imperialis! For “Real!”

Some of you may remember the abortive and small-scale attempt I made at running a 40KRP game via LiveJournal, but most likely won’t. I deliberately kept the group very small – too small, it turns out, for the level of activity to sustain it effectively. However, the storylines were interesting enough to resurrect them, and I’ve been discussing doing so with people that had showed some interest or been involved previously.

I’ve been futzing around with a variant system for 40K roleplaying for a while, and I’ve started actually working on it again recently after a somewhat lengthy hiatus. Huzzah!

Also, I’ve been inspired by a certain other game I’m playing in to try facilitating an online game of it via a forum. However, while that other (and most excellent, btw) game is fairly structured and focused on a single group of heroes, this one is less so, and will in all probability focus on several disparate groups within the same setting and have an overarching dynamic metaplot that all can influence. It will also allow a certain amount of shared narrative control (IE players can, within certain bounds, create and run scenes and NPCs).

In brief, Pax Imperialis will focus mostly on internal conflict within the Imperium of Man, and as such will focus primarily on Human characters though mutants and similar ne’er-do-wells are certainly welcome.

I’ve got several players that are definitely signing on (or have already done so) and I am now extending an invitation to you all as well.

The game has an ever-expanding wiki and is played primarily via the Pax Imperialis Forum.

There is some allowance for playing by messenger programs or even the forum’s own built-in chat and then posting edited paragraph-form transcripts to the forum, if time and interest in doing so are there.

If you want in, come on over and toss me a line.

A few basic guidelines can be found here on the wiki and in the game discussion segment of the forum.

10 Responses to “Pax Imperialis! For “Real!””

  1. devolve_absolve Says:

    Hook it up dawg, you’ve got a rough idea of my concept, and I do know my 40k 😉

  2. uhlrik Says:

    My brain’s all kinds of fuzzy cus I need sleep… you were thinking of an on-the-run, kinda sketchy merchant guy right?

  3. jackofallgeeks Says:

    I’d be interested, as I’m always looking for RP opportunities. Of course, I have but the barest knowledge of 40k. That is, “it’s in the future, and there’s a war.”

  4. devolve_absolve Says:

    Mercantile of nature, certainly, but more successfully hidden, not worth paying attention to or wasting time on noble… with bionics! Because, you know, I’m a John Blanche fan 😀

  5. uhlrik Says:

    Dude, John Blanche is awesome.

    Besides, who else will draw a guy with a cybernetic blender attachment on their spleen?

  6. creativedv8tion Says:

    Well, I don’t know dick (or tom or harry) about WH40K, but I’d be interested. I’ll start looking at your resources and then inundate you with questions, I’m sure.

  7. uhlrik Says:

    Coolitude. I’ll be more than slightly happy to help.

    This game will be quite different than GK1943 in its structure, but I do really like the forum format that you showed me.

  8. creativedv8tion Says:

    Well, let my first piece of advice be use Xsorbit’s free forums, not proboards. Proboards is ok, but Xsorbit is much better.

  9. uhlrik Says:

  10. creativedv8tion Says:

    Well, you shoulda asked me first. 😛 (yes, I commented before I saw you had the forum up already.)

Leave a Reply

