Sprechen Sie Gamerisch?

It’s easy to forget sometimes that subcultures develop their own highly involved and specialized vocabulary sometimes. For example, I’m involved in a number of different subcultures (the LDS church, the art scene and gamerdom, for example) that each tend to speak in ways that are unintelligible to outsiders.

My wife reminded me of this fact today. She was looking over my LJ and stumbled over this thread, which as a non-gamer she found completely incomprehensible. Quoth she: “by the way, i don’t believe you and Andrew were actually speaking English for any of that.” That was a small part of her commentary to me over Y!M, but you get the gist.

Has anybody else here had any moments where the linguistic disconnect with less geeky/more normal/whatever people led to amusing incidents?

Please, share!

10 Responses to “Sprechen Sie Gamerisch?”

  1. jackofallgeeks Says:

    -laughs and laughs and laughs-
    Well, while I’m not sure I’ve ever been accused of not speaking English before, there are a lot of little fascinations of mine that are difficult for others to follow, though I expect that’s mostly due to the fact that they don’t care. Computers and Philosophy spring instantly to mind; I can get really passionate about those (much like the thread we’ve been weaving about gaming), but my audience almost-invariably gets a glazed look on their face before I’ve gotten three sentences out.

  2. anonymous Says:

    ah yes! i give it to you so very often!

    -signed the wife

  3. creativedv8tion Says:

    It’s also known as the Krispy Kreme look.

  4. uhlrik Says:

    She says: this is true.

  5. jackofallgeeks Says:

    I often wonder what the staff and patrons at the local Denny’s think when me and my gaming buds wander in at 2am, babbling nonsense…

  6. creativedv8tion Says:

    I think most Denny’s people are inured to any sort of weirdness at 2am.

    It is Denny’s after all – all the weirdos go there.

  7. creativedv8tion Says:

    Yeah, I love Denny’s at the midnight to 5am hours – used to take a girlfriend of a few years back there b/c we were both night owls, and I’d point out the goth geeks over there, and the gamer geeks over there, and the hard rockers over there on their way home from the concert over there, and the guys coming back from the wrestling show over there…

    and they’d all wave and say, “Hey Terry!”

  8. uhlrik Says:

    Hey, nobody’s perfect.

  9. uhlrik Says:

    That’s why I like the place.

  10. creativedv8tion Says:

    Indeed.

Leave a Reply

