V For Victory

Today, I obtained victory over one of the greatest enemies that has plagued my family. I have similar foes that I shall see again I am sure,  but this particular nemesis shall vex me no more.

After work, I dashed to the lair of this foe so that I might beard him in his den, and verily I was timely in my arrival.

But enough quasi-poesy. I arrived at a certain financial institution and strode past many persons of Korean extraction (said institution is in Koreatown and primarily caters to that demographic) and took the elevator upstairs. There I met with a lovely officer of the place and inquired as to the exact balance. She provided the necessary information, whereupon I drew forth my checkbook and prematurely dispatched forever the debt my wife and I incurred in the purchase of our automobile. As of this evening, our car is our own.

Had we made the standard payments for this car, we would have remained in debt for another 27 months. It is a tremendous weight off my shoulders to be free of this debt, and this shall permit us to turn our eyes to a greater and more fearsome debt: K’s student loans.

Debt is a horrible thing to labor under, and it nags perennially on the edge of consciousness. I detest it thoroughly. I have no aspirations to be particularly wealthy, but I do have a burning need to live free and clear, in debt neither to man nor devil upon the face of this earth. This was one significant step along that path.

What a relief.

5 Responses to “V For Victory”

  1. bosantibe Says:

    I sympathize more than you might know. I do hate the idea of being indebted to something that is not quite real (such as an institution), a conundrum that keeps me out of a variety of arenas as time goes on. To hell with some debt, I say.

  2. lucretiasheart Says:

    I know how you feel. We paid off every bit of debt in 2003, and remained free until January of 2006 when we HAD to get a new (used) car. But as soon as we have any extra, we’ll put it into paying that puppy off, just like we did before.

    You’re right, the freedom is so totally worth it! =)

  3. uhlrik Says:

    Plus, putting a little extra money into it early on can save you a monstrous amount down the line.

    That’s a big plus. 🙂

  4. bosantibe Says:

    One should not suffer an abomination to remain extant, I believe.

  5. uhlrik Says:

    One must brain it with the nearest convenient heavy, blunt object.

Leave a Reply

V For Victory

Today, I obtained victory over one of the greatest enemies that has plagued my family. I have similar foes that I shall see again I am sure,  but this particular nemesis shall vex me no more.

After work, I dashed to the lair of this foe so that I might beard him in his den, and verily I was timely in my arrival.

But enough quasi-poesy. I arrived at a certain financial institution and strode past many persons of Korean extraction (said institution is in Koreatown and primarily caters to that demographic) and took the elevator upstairs. There I met with a lovely officer of the place and inquired as to the exact balance. She provided the necessary information, whereupon I drew forth my checkbook and prematurely dispatched forever the debt my wife and I incurred in the purchase of our automobile. As of this evening, our car is our own.

Had we made the standard payments for this car, we would have remained in debt for another 27 months. It is a tremendous weight off my shoulders to be free of this debt, and this shall permit us to turn our eyes to a greater and more fearsome debt: K’s student loans.

Debt is a horrible thing to labor under, and it nags perennially on the edge of consciousness. I detest it thoroughly. I have no aspirations to be particularly wealthy, but I do have a burning need to live free and clear, in debt neither to man nor devil upon the face of this earth. This was one significant step along that path.

What a relief.

2 Responses to “V For Victory”

  1. uhlrik Says:

    I believe that unnecessary debt is an abomination. My firm conviction is that I shall not go into any debt that I can avoid. Things like houses, cars and education are one thing. Frivolous use of credit cards or loans to fund vacations are entirely another.

  2. bosantibe Says:

    One should not suffer an abomination to remain extant, I believe.

Leave a Reply

