A compelling read

Now, I’ve never really paid all that much mind to all the jibber-jabber about Transmetropolitan, for a number of reasons. First, it came out when I was incommunicado and after I stopped collecting comics, also because I’m not sold on Gonzo journalism and Hunter S. Thompson (funny and incisive though he was) seemed mostly a debauched ranter to me.

However, this issue is positively brilliant. If I’d read that one way back when, I’d have given Spider’s mag a serious look. It’s thought-provoking.

Who’da thunk?

4 Responses to “A compelling read”

  1. creativedv8tion Says:

    Don’t have time to follow the link, but I’m just not impressed with Transmet; it seems nothing but a platform for the author to just espouse some seriously stupid rants.

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Much of why I didn’t get into the series as a whole after I first learned a bit about it a couple years ago. This particular issue, however, was excellent.

  3. lakantanz Says:

    I on the other hand have the entire series in trade paper back. 😉

    While I agree that some of it is a way to rant, there is some very good issues and many of it is thought provoking … or just fun to read.

    More than I can say for a lot of the generic crap that a lot of comics are :).

  4. uhlrik Says:

    Most comics are utter drivel. That’s part of why I stopped collecting.

Leave a Reply

