Holy Iceberg, Batman!

I was doing some research on sea ice, ice shelves and the like (for obscure reasons) when I came across a tidbit that I thought I would share. ‘Tis the season and all.

Apparently, during WWII the British planned to build a gigantic aircraft carrier out of ice.

Project Habakkuk

Architect's rendering

That’s incredibly cool, in a pipe dream sort of way.

More information on the project.

15 Responses to “Holy Iceberg, Batman!”

  1. creativedv8tion Says:

    That’s way cool in a “huh?” sorta way.

  2. kurosau Says:

    It wasn’t actually a pipe dream. The prototype model completely proved the concept, and the ship could’ve been built just as planned. The problem was that they couldn’t be constructed fast enough.

    Also, they weren’t going to build it out of ice, strictly speaking. IIRC, they were going to build it out of Pykrete, a mixture of sawdust (or other wood pulp products) and ice. Pykrete has better structural integrity and lower thermal conductivity than ice alone. Your article probably mentions this though, so forgive me for adding the info.

  3. uhlrik Says:

    Yeah, I was oversimplifying for the sake of brevity.

    As for pipe dream… by the time they were ready to build it, they had better alternatives. It would’ve been cool to build it anyway, though.

  4. uhlrik Says:

    Say what?

  5. creativedv8tion Says:

    Huh?

  6. creativedv8tion Says:

    It would’ve been cool to build it anyway, though.

    Cool… ice ship.. heh he heh

  7. uhlrik Says:

    I’d do it again. I have no regret.

  8. creativedv8tion Says:

    I am not surprised.

  9. uhlrik Says:

    Why would such behavior on my part ever surprise you anyone that has ever had communication with me?

  10. bosantibe Says:

    Neat. I wish I had dreamt it up first. It’s the sort of thing I’ve been on about in much of my latter writing kick.

  11. bosantibe Says:

    Neat. I wish I had dreamt it up first. It’s the sort of thing I’ve been on about in much of my latter writing kick.

  12. uhlrik Says:

    Then feel free to file off the serial numbers, call it the Isaiah (“a marvelous work and a wonder…”) and move on. 😀

  13. uhlrik Says:

    Then feel free to file off the serial numbers, call it the Isaiah (“a marvelous work and a wonder…”) and move on. 😀

  14. bosantibe Says:

    Maybe after I wipe out the world’s libraries and historical records of every stripe I just may.

  15. bosantibe Says:

    Maybe after I wipe out the world’s libraries and historical records of every stripe I just may.

Leave a Reply

