Fascinating In Its Implications

Thanks to

for pointing this article out to me.

Sobot: The Ghost In The Machine (my title, not theirs)

The technology, in and of itself, is incredibly cool and I’m very curious what they will manage to do with it. However, the head guy on the project’s comments on the project are chilling:

“Everything is a double-edged sword,” says Kuppuswamy, shrugging. “I don’t think about it.”

That bugs me. Deliberately ignoring the ethical implications of one’s own work is gross irresponsibility. Science without a conscience is a major part of the definition of mad science, especially if we’re looking at the real world. I consider irresponsibility of that sort utterly immoral. Then people try to whitewash it with the idea that there is some sort of virtue in soulless research. Shrugging off the consequences of one’s own work? I can’t abide that.

Now, I firmly believe in scientific endeavor, research and technological development… but ethical considerations are frankly far more important than knowledge for its own sake. Everything must be justified by virtue, save virtue itself.

6 Responses to “Fascinating In Its Implications”

  1. uhlrik Says:

    Indeed. It’s his sheer unwillingness to even think about these things that bugs me so much. If you’re gonna make it, you’d better think long and hard about its applications.

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Oh, I can understand it… it’s far easier to put blinders on and go on blithely doing what you feel like doing than it is to take a long hard look at what you’re doing, and examine its meaning for both good and ill.

    It’s selfishness, basically. It is about getting what one wants regardless of whether it hurts anybody else. It enables one to cash that check, take the accolades of one’s peers and pretend that everything is okay.

  3. bosantibe Says:

    … and apparently to believe that a robotic utopia will result from one’s works without the stumbling blocks of subversive applications of the self-same technology weighing against the progress of one’s personal dream.

  4. lucretiasheart Says:

    Let me re-phrase.

    I understand it– but I still can’t imagine that lifestyle ever being good enough for a person. I know it is for many people, the evidence is all around us, isn’t it? But I can’t bear that kind of guilt– I’m not so good at lying to myself about myself. I could never pretend that sort of behavior was okay. I suppose a part of me is still shocked that other people can manage it. It bewilders me to think of another person having defense mechanisms that entrenched and powerful! =0

  5. uhlrik Says:

    Well, seriously… who would ever use the power of technology for evil?

  6. lucretiasheart Says:

    Spiffy! LOL!

    Yeah– cause not everyone is like that. Some people get it and do the right thing. =)

Leave a Reply

