Musicality

Jacked from

after I distracted him by revealing his secret love of Wham.

Go to http://www.popculturemadness.com/Music and find the year you turned 18, or the year you graduated high school. Bold the songs you liked and strikethrough the ones you loathed at the time.

The ones that aren’t marked/striked through are either those songs which I don’t have much of an opinion on other than “meh” or are ones I don’t remember.

1995 Greatest Hits
1. Cotten Eye Joe – Rednex
2. One Sweet Day – Mariah Carey & Boys II Men
3. I’ll Be There For You – Rembrandts
4. Run Away – Real McCoy
5. You Gotta Be – Des’ree
6. Boombastic – Shaggy
7. I Could Fall In Love – Selena
8. Take Your Time (Do It Right) – Max-A-Million
9. Better Man – Pearl Jam
10. Fantasy – Mariah Carey
11. We’ve Got It Goin’ On – Backstreet Boys
12. Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman? – Bryan Adams
13. Fat Boy – Max-A-Million
14. This Is How We Do It – Montell Jordan
15. I Like It, I Love It – Tim McGraw
16. Ants Marching – Dave Matthews Band
17. Hey Lover – LL Cool J
18. The Woman In Me – Shania Twain
19. I Wish – Skee-Lo
20. Jeremy – Pearl Jam
21. Come And Get Your Love – Real McCoy
22. When I Come Around – Green Day
23. Sexual Healing – Max-A-Million
24. Thank You – Boyz II Men
25. Kiss From A Rose – Seal
26. Total Eclipse of the Heart – Nikki French (I almost hate to admit I actually like this one)
27. Any Man Of Mine – Shania Twain
28. What Would You Say – Dave Matthews Band
29. Big Poppa – Notorious B.I.G.
30. Tootsie Roll – 69 Boyz
31. I Believe – Blessid Union Of Souls
32. Send Me On My Way – Rusted Root
33. Bizarre Love Triangle* – New Order
(*US release, it came out in the UK, and the rest of the world in 1988. It only made it to #98, according to Billboard Magazine!)
34. Gangsta’s Paradise – Coolio
35. Everything Zen – Bush
36. New Age Girl – Dead Eye Dick
37. The Bomb! – The Bucketheads
38. I Got Id – Pearl Jam
39. Let Me Be The One – Blessed Union Of Souls
40. Colors Of The Wind – Vanessa Williams
41. Age Ain’t Nothin’ But A Number – Aaliyah
42. Lightning Crashes – Live
43. Boom Boom Boom – Outhere Bros.
44. Good – Better Than Ezra
45. Tonight Is The Night – Le Click
46. Short Short Man – 20 Fingers
47. Run-Around – Blues Traveller
48. Scatman (Ski-Ba-Bop-Ba-Dop-Bop) – Scatman
49. December – Collective Soul
50. Hooked On You – Silk
51. Waterfalls – TLC
52. (I Could Only) Whisper Your Name – Harry Connick, Jr.
53. Creep – TLC
54. Dreaming Of You – Selena
55. Good Intentions – Toad The Wet Sprocket
56. Misery – Soul Asylum
57. Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me – U2
58. Buddy Holly – Weezer
59. Roll To Me – Del Amitri
60. You Oughta Know – Alanis Morissette
61. Hurt – Nine Inch Nails
62. As I Lay Me Down – Sophie B. Hawkins
63. Baby Baby – Corona
64. Lick It – Roula
65. Carnival – Natalie Merchant
66. Girlstown – Supercat
67. Baby – Brandy
68. Hand In My Pocket – Alanis Morissette
69. I Kissed A Girl – Jill Sobule
70. Seether – Veruca Salt
71.  Let Her Cry – Hootie and the Blowfish
72. Exhale (Shoop Shoop) – Whitney Houston
73. Wonderful – Adam Ant
74. Fake Plastic Trees – Radiohead
75.
I’m The Only One – Melissa Ethridge


In 1995, most of the music I listened to was from earlier eras so I don’t honestly remember most of what’s on this list, and most of the stuff from that time that I did listen to didn’t make this list. *shrug*

Things I listened to more included Oingo Boingo, The Scorpions, Metallica, They Might Be Giants, The Specials, The Police, Depeche Mode, The Cure, Karl Orff (I had his Carmina Burana in heavy rotation) and J.S. Bach and quite a few names that aren’t coming to my mind right now but mostly in the hard rock, punk or ska veins.

4 Responses to “Musicality”

  1. lakantanz Says:

    My god, 1998 sucked.

    About the only real highlight is:
    Good riddance (Time of your life) – Green Day

    The list is full of Backstreet Boys, Puff Daddy. Also including such must buy records as Spice Girls, Rod Stewart and Celine Dion.

    Oh and for 1 hit wonder of the year (and an album my sister even bought):

    Sex and Candy – Marcy Playground

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Wow, 1998 really did suck. I’m glad I was on my mission and not allowed to listen to regular music that year. I sure wasn’t missing anything.

    That Green Day song is good though…. but by that point I was really burned out on those guys. I stopped listening to them by ’97 and didn’t give them another chance until the release of American Idiot.

  3. lakantanz Says:

    I didn’t really get into rock (or metal of any kind for that matter) till I was about 18 … so was discovering what was sometimes a few years old only then. Perhaps this was a good thing looking at 1998’s music ;).

    So my 1998 was Green Day – Nimrod, Korn – Follow the Leader, Bush – Sixteenth Stone (?) and Live – Throwing Copper. Meant that I didn’t really get burnt out of them when many other people already had.

    To be fair though, American Idiot did take Green Day from “more of the same” to noticeable again. Warning as an album is very similar to Nimrod in sound.

  4. uhlrik Says:

    My feeling about Green Day until American Idiot was formed mostly by my experience with Dookie… all of the songs on that album sounded pretty much the same. When you have a friend that won’t play any other album than that it feels like Groundhog Day… the same exact thing looped forever. Death.

Leave a Reply

