Lememe: Ich heise…

Yet another meme has smitten my f-list, by way of etherlad.

I’m fascinated with names, so I’ve posted repeatedly on related things such as the definition of my name and this lengthy discourse on names in general and mine in particular.

  1. Are you named after anyone? If so, explain.
    Indeed I was. I was named after my father’s best friend. Full explanation here, if you actually want to know.
  2. Do you have your children’s names picked out already? If so, is there any significance?
    For boys, the names Jacob and Alexander (which historical spelling we’d use for the latter is a matter of some discussion; I lean more towards the ks spellings myself) are the frontrunners. We like the sound of both, the religious connotations (if not the definition) of the first and the meaning of the second. For girls, we prefer Katherine mostly for its sound, though we do know two very dear Katherines who would likely think we named the girl after them (I have no particular feeling on dispelling said illusion, though illusion it would most certainly be: I’m not keen on deliberately naming my kids after people).
  3. If you were born a member of the opposite sex what would your name have been?

    Mother knew I’d be a boy before I was even concieved, so no female name options were discussed.

  4. If you could re-name yourself what name would you pick and why?

    I would not.

  5. Are there any mispronunciations/typos that people do w/ your name constantly?

    Indeed. One would think that a short name like mine would be difficult to misspell or mispronounce, but one would be sadly mistaken. Misspellings and mispronunciations that I have encountered include, but are not necessarily limited to, the following: Hale, Hall, Hell, Hol and Hel, mostly the first two. My brief last name regularly suffers similar indignities in the form of Cass, Chase and Casey.

2 Responses to “Lememe: Ich heise…”

  1. bosantibe Says:

    I also get the extraneous E a lot. Or maybe they’re simply taking it from my last name and transporting it, but either way I can’t think of more than twice when someone has gotten first and last name correctly spelled after I told them my name. Extra syllables are also an issue. Fun times.

    I once knew a guy named John Malone, whom a bipolar acquaintance of mine was grossly infatuated with. She always thought his name was pronounced Malone-ee despite knowing the spelling of it. It was a source of amusement to me then as it is now.

  2. uhlrik Says:

    That extra “e” will getcha every time.

Leave a Reply

