In The News: Freak Accidents Edition

I haven’t had much time over the past few days to really respond to others’ posts or to put up much of anything worth posting myself, but now I’m trying to catch up a bit before I go and spend the day gessoing canvases. Maybe I’ll go get a board to set up my silkscreens on too when I’m done here. We’ll see. Anyhow, on with the news and my brief takes thereon!

Man Struck By Falling Dog
That’s like a bad roleplaying story. The GM gets sick of somebody’s rules lawyering (or other gamefoolery) and declares, “That’s it. A big dog falls on you.” A slightly modified and even more inexplicable version of those old saws, the Blue Bolt From the Heavens and the most famous one of all

And, while we’re on the subject of bolts from the heavens…
Man Hit By Lightning Saving Lucky Shirt
Okay I don’t believe in luck, but if I did I’d say that the shirt’s bad luck if anything. He got hit by lightning while he was wearing it!

Art Has a Postmodern Moment As Sculpture Flies Away, Killing 2
Now, that blows (I slay me), but I still think it’s hysterical, especially if you layer on an art-historical context. A huge sculpture/installation losing grip with the ground and flying away in a stiff wind, spilling its occupants to the ground and crashing into a pole… talk about bringing into question a) the preciousness of the art object, b) the relationship between art observer and art object, c) the expectations that are traditionally attached to the word sculpture, d) the elitist art establishment itself by way of pitching them out of a flying sculpture, e) relationships between observed size and solidity or gravity… and further, just the sheer freakishly cool idea of watching a 5-meter tall thing the size of half a soccer pitch taking off on its own into the air to an accompanying symphony of screams. Like I said, a postmodern moment. By the way, check out the pic of the sculpture. It’s actually quite cool.

More To Come shortly.

2 Responses to “In The News: Freak Accidents Edition”

  1. bosantibe Says:

    Pretty wild stuff, there. I love the surreality of the really real world. I would have loved to walk through the sculpture art or seen the dog bomb, like being in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas whilst in progress.

  2. uhlrik Says:

    The real world is so much wierder than most fiction, if you take a long hard look. At least fiction tries to make sense.

    I’d love to see that sculpture too, you betcha. Apparently it has shown without incident in a number of other places, so that maybe with improved tethering it can be shown someplace else too.

Leave a Reply

