Yet another questions meme.

Another meme….

…stolen from twillitts while he was using a telescope to spy on[info]linkmedia and his wife as they were playing dress up as transformers.

01. Elaborate on your default icon.
It’s myself, looking a little hipsterish.

02. What’s your current relationship status?
Happily married. I win!

03. Ever have a near-death experience?
No.

04. Name an obvious quality you have?
Vast otherworldly power. And intense chameleonic eyes.

05. What’s the name of the song that’s stuck in your head right now?
Sleepless in Seattle is on TV right now. Jimmy Durante was a god.

06. Any celeb you would marry?
Hm. I’m taken.

07. Who will cut and paste this first?
He already did. After that, probably laurelei28.

08. Name someone with the same birthday as you:
Al Jolson (The Jazz Singer), John Wayne,  Bobcat Goldthwait, Mary Wollstonecraft Godwin the writer/mother of Mary Shelley and the first whooping crane hatched in captivity.

09. Do you have a crush on someone?
Deeply in love. That trumps crushes any day.

10. Have you ever vandalized someone’s private property?
Hmmm… public property doesn’t count. So I’ll say no.

11. Have you ever been in a fight?
Many times, but not since middle school.

12. Have you ever sung in front of a large audience?
Yes.

13. What’s the first thing you notice about a member of the OPPOSITE sex?
Hair, eyes, lips, breasts (I’ll admit it).

14. What do you usually order from Starbucks?
I loathe Starbucks. It is an urban fungus. If I’m meeting somebody there, I have that vanilla non-coffee stuff.

15. Have you ever hurt yourself on purpose?
I have deliberately done things that I knew would hurt me, though the injuries were not an end in themselves. They were either a side effect or a means to an end.

16. Say something totally random about yourself.
My fingerfeet can grasp doorknobs, turn them and open the door. I’m a right chimp, I am.

17. Has anyone ever said you looked like a celebrity?
Jim Carrey. Many, many times.

18. Do you wear a watch? What kind?
Watches die the moment they become mine, and in various exciting and spectacular ways. I just use a cellphone now.

19. Do you have anything pierced?
Nope. That’s not my thing.

20. Do you have any tattoos?
Nope. Not my thing.

21. Do you like pain?
Indifferent. The key is not caring.

22. Do you like to shop?
Depends what for. In general, I’d rather spontaneously combust.

23. What was the last thing you paid for with cash?
Ice cream for myself, my wife and a cousin. Coldstone Creamery. I had sweet cream with raspberries mixed in. Mmmmmm

24. What was the last thing you paid for with a credit card?
A tank of gas, today.

25. Who was the last person you spoke to on the phone?
K.

26. What is on your desktop background?
A Pax Imperialis Collage.

27. What is the background on your cell phone?
One of the phone defaults. I don’t care enough to download more. Actually, I don’t care about peripheral features on phones in general. Cameras? I’ll use my digital, not a phone.

28. Do you like redheads?
Ja.

29. Do you know any twins?
KT is one.

30. Do you have any weird relatives?
Let’s just say that when my siblings’ S.O.s always assume that the one they’re dating is the “wierd one in the family”… until they meet the family.

31. What was the last movie you watched?
Sleepless in Seattle. Before that, Spaceballs.

32. What was the last book you read?
The scriptures… but then, I have been reading and rereading them all my life.

33. Did you or are you planning to go to college?
Did.

34. What is your favorite pair of pants that you own?
Corduroy. Brown. Way cooler than they sound.

35. Do you like to party?
Yeah, but not in the way this meme probably means.

36. Where do you see yourself in five years?
Hopefully, still in Los Angeles.

17 Responses to “Yet another questions meme.”

  1. bosantibe Says:

    “16. Say something totally random about yourself.
    My fingerfeet can grasp doorknobs, turn them and open the door. I’m a right chimp, I am.”
    Yes.

    “17. Has anyone ever said you looked like a celebrity?
    Jim Carrey. Many, many times.”
    That’s pretty cringe-worthy. I don’t see it, myself, but maybe it has something to do with the plasticity of your features.

    “19. Do you have anything pierced?
    Nope. That’s not my thing.

    20. Do you have any tattoos?
    Nope. Not my thing.

    21. Do you like pain?
    Indifferent. The key is not caring.”
    Huzzah that I’m not the only one!

  2. uhlrik Says:

    The few pictures I have posted of myself are probably among my least Carrey-like, but yes it is a little cringeworthy… and my facial plasticity is definitely a factor. I can do a mean Jim Carrey impression when I want to.

  3. bosantibe Says:

    I’d rather be looked at as Richard D. James or someone of that variety. That’s not to say I dislike Jim Carrey, but everyone who is likened to him is probably seen in the light of his early career.

  4. uhlrik Says:

    *nods* I’ve been getting compared to him since a little before The Mask came out… and then by the time that film hit theatres, I was working in one… and had shaven my head due to my alopecia. The comparisons were especially relentless at that time, but have experienced a number of revivals since that time, perhaps most notably while I was working in Beverly Hills from ’04 to this year.

  5. uhlrik Says:

    *nods* I’ve been getting compared to him since a little before The Mask came out… and then by the time that film hit theatres, I was working in one… and had shaven my head due to my alopecia. The comparisons were especially relentless at that time, but have experienced a number of revivals since that time, perhaps most notably while I was working in Beverly Hills from ’04 to this year.

  6. bosantibe Says:

    I’ve only shaved my head to the core once and I do enjoy the coarse feel to it as it regrows, but I’ve been shearing it to about an eighth of an inch for several years now every season or so when it becomes cumbersome. Some people give me a rote hive-mind response of “what happened to your hair?” to which I usually respond with some sort of jackass comment like: “it’s gone? oh noes!” Anyone who has known me for any length of time just blinks once and moves on.

  7. bosantibe Says:

    I’ve only shaved my head to the core once and I do enjoy the coarse feel to it as it regrows, but I’ve been shearing it to about an eighth of an inch for several years now every season or so when it becomes cumbersome. Some people give me a rote hive-mind response of “what happened to your hair?” to which I usually respond with some sort of jackass comment like: “it’s gone? oh noes!” Anyone who has known me for any length of time just blinks once and moves on.

  8. uhlrik Says:

    I kept mine shaved from ’93 to ’97, and then shaved it again in the fall of ’99 (the gap consisting of my mission), though by mid spring of 2K I had grown it out again and haven’t shaved it all the way since: I made the “mistake” of letting my hair grow out just before K and I started dating (we’d been friends for a while) and she decided she likes me better with hair on my head. Go figure.

  9. uhlrik Says:

    I kept mine shaved from ’93 to ’97, and then shaved it again in the fall of ’99 (the gap consisting of my mission), though by mid spring of 2K I had grown it out again and haven’t shaved it all the way since: I made the “mistake” of letting my hair grow out just before K and I started dating (we’d been friends for a while) and she decided she likes me better with hair on my head. Go figure.

  10. bosantibe Says:

    I think it’s usually a safe bet to defer to the taste of your lady, as that’s usually a major factor in how we choose with whom to couple. As long as you’re not uncomfortable looking a certain way, you’ll only be more comfortable with the smiles and attention you attract from your loved one. That’s the theory, anyway. I know the last girl I dated loved facial hair, but I pretty much approach my stubble the same way I approach my top hair, only weekly. In that situation, I did feel quite liberated shaving before I met her family. Ah, the foolishness of dating…

  11. bosantibe Says:

    I think it’s usually a safe bet to defer to the taste of your lady, as that’s usually a major factor in how we choose with whom to couple. As long as you’re not uncomfortable looking a certain way, you’ll only be more comfortable with the smiles and attention you attract from your loved one. That’s the theory, anyway. I know the last girl I dated loved facial hair, but I pretty much approach my stubble the same way I approach my top hair, only weekly. In that situation, I did feel quite liberated shaving before I met her family. Ah, the foolishness of dating…

  12. uhlrik Says:

    It’s very much a good idea to take her tastes into account, and I make an effort to do so, though I also feel it’s important to be willing to dissent on those things that you feel strongly about. Thankfully, my wife has good taste and also knows me well enough to spot things that she may not think are perfect but that she knows I’ll like, so I don’t usually have too much to fuss with her over in regards to my look.

    K isn’t crazy about facial hair, but also knows that shaving regularly gives me nasty ingrown hairs and so I’d just rather not do it too often. Rather than harassing me about not shaving enough (unless there’s a particular event coming up that she wants me to look my best for), she instead makes positive comments when I do get round to polishing my mug. Rather than fighting me when the mood strikes me to grow a beard (which happens from time to time, as indicated in my icon) she just tries to ensure that I make that beard look good. She doesn’t much like goatees on me, favoring the full beard.

  13. uhlrik Says:

    It’s very much a good idea to take her tastes into account, and I make an effort to do so, though I also feel it’s important to be willing to dissent on those things that you feel strongly about. Thankfully, my wife has good taste and also knows me well enough to spot things that she may not think are perfect but that she knows I’ll like, so I don’t usually have too much to fuss with her over in regards to my look.

    K isn’t crazy about facial hair, but also knows that shaving regularly gives me nasty ingrown hairs and so I’d just rather not do it too often. Rather than harassing me about not shaving enough (unless there’s a particular event coming up that she wants me to look my best for), she instead makes positive comments when I do get round to polishing my mug. Rather than fighting me when the mood strikes me to grow a beard (which happens from time to time, as indicated in my icon) she just tries to ensure that I make that beard look good. She doesn’t much like goatees on me, favoring the full beard.

  14. bosantibe Says:

    It sounds like there’s a good balance in that. What more can you ask for and expect to get any sort of result, right?

  15. bosantibe Says:

    It sounds like there’s a good balance in that. What more can you ask for and expect to get any sort of result, right?

  16. uhlrik Says:

    Indeed. Life is good.

  17. uhlrik Says:

    Indeed. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

