“It Was Nearly Instantaneous!”

Yes, those words left my lips in a moment of elated astonishment tonight.

We (As in K, L and D) tested an internet rumor pertaining to the volatility of Mentos combined with 2-liter bottles of Diet Coke.

Purely for the purposes of Scientific Inquiry, of course. Never mind the potential future plans we discussed for whole arrays of the things going off at once, or for examination of the relative volatility of different grades of diet and non-diet soda.

Anyhow, we went out back behind the house with said 2-liter bottle of diet coke, with the plan that I would drop the mentos in the bottle and run, while the others shoot video and cameraphone pics.

See the headline for my reaction as I fled the 7-foot high spray. I managed to avoid getting soda on anything but the hand that dropped the mentos in the bottle. Much laughter ensued.

I can indeed confirm that mentos will create an explosively volatile reaction in a diet coke bottle. At least  there turns out to be (exactly) one use for Diet Coke. Fun with chemistry!

8 Responses to ““It Was Nearly Instantaneous!””

  1. jackofallgeeks Says:

    Now I want to do it.
    *goes off in search of Mentos*

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Most excellent! *thumbs up*

  3. silentclarity Says:

    Well I know what I’m doin’ at my next barbecue!

    Any particular flavor mentos?

  4. uhlrik Says:

    I used a pack of mixed-flavor mentos, so probably not. Only two of the several I was dropping in had even hit the surface before it blew.

  5. silentclarity Says:

    definitely trying this at my next barbecue.

  6. uhlrik Says:

    Sweet! I’d love to hear a report and/or see pics. Apparently there were some technical difficulties with sending the pics to me, so I have none to post as of yet.

    I was just sent this video of a pair of very ambitious men going well above and beyond the call of duty.

    Awesometology has a new ritual.

  7. bosantibe Says:

    Your science is a new source of pride for me.

  8. uhlrik Says:

    I live to serve.

Leave a Reply

