What Words Mean: A Few Thoughts

I’ve been thinking a lot about signs, words and systems of forming meaning lately, and somebody recently made a jibe relating to the arbitrariness of words in discussion with me.

So I felt like poking around at a little structuralism and poststructuralism for kicks (okay, so I’m a sicko. Sue me). I became curious what that great font of information, quasi information, misinformation and general meandering Wikipedia had to say on the subject.

Behold, Sign (Semiotics)!

I’m going to bed.

One Response to “What Words Mean: A Few Thoughts”

  1. uhlrik Says:

    Even debates on matters taht are… less than philosophical, this is frequently necessary. I’ve managed to bring more than one contentious discussion to a calm conclusion after asking one of hte major participants what exactly they mean when they use whatever term it is that they’re building their argument/disagreement on, and datermined that we were using entirely differnet meanings for the same word, and ultiamtely had much the same position in the first place… we were just phrasing it differently.

Leave a Reply

What Words Mean: A Few Thoughts

I’ve been thinking a lot about signs, words and systems of forming meaning lately, and somebody recently made a jibe relating to the arbitrariness of words in discussion with me.

So I felt like poking around at a little structuralism and poststructuralism for kicks (okay, so I’m a sicko. Sue me). I became curious what that great font of information, quasi information, misinformation and general meandering Wikipedia had to say on the subject.

Behold, Sign (Semiotics)!

I’m going to bed.

3 Responses to “What Words Mean: A Few Thoughts”

  1. bosantibe Says:

    It seems that in order to have a philosophical debate one must qualify nearly all terms. The best conversations I’ve ever had involved people with whom I could quickly develop a rapport that allowed for us to quickly express our meanings and move on with the great debate.

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Even debates on matters taht are… less than philosophical, this is frequently necessary. I’ve managed to bring more than one contentious discussion to a calm conclusion after asking one of hte major participants what exactly they mean when they use whatever term it is that they’re building their argument/disagreement on, and datermined that we were using entirely differnet meanings for the same word, and ultiamtely had much the same position in the first place… we were just phrasing it differently.

  3. bosantibe Says:

    True that.

Leave a Reply

