In the News: More Than You Can Shake a Stick At

I’ve been remiss in posting these over the past week or so… so I thought I’d best get to it.

Mobile Phones Exploding!

Sweet. After-market batteries, they claim? Okay…

Paint Thinner-Cigarette Error Causes Fire

Gee, I gotta put down this bowl of paint thinner. Here’s a coffee table. Gee, I gotta put out my smoke. This bowl of water is handy, cus everybody leaves water bowls on their coffee table..  *fwoosh!*
Firstly, painting his house with oil-based paint… is more work than necessary, and I’m sure the toxic fumes contributed to his poor judgment.

Look Officer, I’ve Got A Criminal Stuck Up My Chimney!

This doesn’t even require further comment. Next.

Vow of Undying Love Disrupts Wedding Night.

Talk about timing. On the plus side, their tribe doesn’t actually hunt heads any more…

A Day Late And a Penny Short Not Good Enough

Ouch. She was short $0.01 and they killed her power. That’s just… cold.

Bears Eat Monkey In Front of Zoo Visitors

Gee. People are shocked? Wild animals kinda, like… you know… kill for food. Don’t these people watch the Discovery Channel like zamiel and I?

Mel Brooks Beat Them To It.

They’re selling cans of O2 to people as a “pick-me-up.”

Tattooed Mummy Unlocks Peruvian Moche Culture

Well, not so much unlock as eliminate a few misconceptions about gender roles.

Homeless Foot-Licker Charged in CA

What is this, Foot Fetish Month?

Seat Belt, Bra Strap Save Woman From Gunshot

The Universal Lottery picked her number, apparently. I love these bizarre situations. Reminds me of situations that came up all too often in oWoD: Get 6 successes to hit, then score zilch for damage.

4 Responses to “In the News: More Than You Can Shake a Stick At”

  1. lucretiasheart Says:

    Good stuff, Maynard!

  2. bosantibe Says:

    I loved telling my boss about the Motorola phones because both he and I have them.

    You know, now that I think about it, it would be hilarious to make a Mage rote in the new system that forces anyone around you to roll their damage separately as per the old system; that would be a fantastic entropy power.

    “Oh no, no-no, that’s fine. It was a perfectly aimed shot and the arrow was practically delivered on the hand of god, but then it bounces off his shirt.”

  3. uhlrik Says:

    Now that would be funny. I think using Entropy to grant luck-type armor or reduce attak successes could have the same mechanical effect, just using that as its “F/X”.

  4. bosantibe Says:

    Exactly. It’s mechanically brilliant.

    “Characters in the area of influence of this effect must roll their dexterity+firearms with any appropriate modifiers as usual, with the exception of damage, which (if the attack is successful) is rolled as a separate pool with any attack successes added as a modifier.”

    Of course, technically this would be called a Fate effect, but whatever.

Leave a Reply

