Lemming Letters! Loverly!

Stolen fromtwillitts, while he was doing an impression of Samuel L. Jackson.

Comment, and I shall give you a letter. Go back to your journal, and write ten words beginning with that letter, including an explanation what the word means to you and why.

And twillitts gave me ‘L’:


  1. Love – I love my wife, I love food, God is Love, heck… what’s not to Love?
  2. Latin – a fun language to rape, spindle and mutilate. But then, I love languages in general, and the deliberate molestation thereof gives me great joy. Often several at a time (as with my Pax Imperialis writings). How kinky.
  3. Linda – I have a sister named Linda, and she deserves the name (it means pretty, apparently). I used to have an RP character named Linda Lee (no relation beyond having stolen my sister’s nickname… my character’s a basket case and a Fomor, my sister’s neither). Ironically, I discovered years after her creation that the name was already taken. I also used to live near a town called Loma Linda.
  4. Lord of the Rings – like, duh. Awesome books, yo. I read Fellowship iaround 4th grade, and have been addicted ever since.
  5. Lieber, Fritz – very enjoyable creator of clever, escapist, iconic sword and sorcery heroes Fafhrd and the Grey Mouser. Appropriate that I place LotR’s antithesis next to it, eh?
  6. Limbo – How low can you go? I can go to Limbo and hang out with Virgil. Now that’s low.
  7. Literature – I love literature of many shapes and sizes. Long and heavy or short and rapier quick yet witty, it doesn’t matter as long as the yarn is interesting and the pace is appropriate for what it’s trying to do. High art literature? Sure, I’ll have some. Pulp? Sure, I’ll at least take a cynical glance and amuse myself at its expense (Exhibit 1: Kothar of the Magic Sword, probably the worst piece of fantasy tripe I’ve ever read all the way through. A must-read, for sheer badness. Gardner F Fox was a gifted creator, but he never should have bothered with this one…).
  8. Lamia – very cool mythical critter, the oracular serpent-woman. She (and her derivations) always fascinated me. Plus, Lamia is a  Latin (see above) word for witch or vampire.
  9. Los Angeles – home. I love this town, with all that is glorious and all that is crappy about it.
  10. Lame – a word that I enjoy using. Dude, I wonder when the last time I heard somebody called a Lame-o was…probably the eighties. I guess Lamer is a more contemporary version.

4 Responses to “Lemming Letters! Loverly!”

  1. creativedv8tion Says:

    I’ll take a letter, Vanna.

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Yea verily, the letter V is that which thou shalt demonstrate a connection to.

  3. creativedv8tion Says:

    Victory is mine!

    (And Righteous!ly so)

  4. uhlrik Says:

    Sweet!

Leave a Reply

