In the News:

Arkansas woman gives chicken mouth-to-mouth resuscitation.

I love that this event happened in a place called Arkadelphia.

To quote the former nurse: “… and its dad-gum eyes popped open.”

Oh my. I wonder how many teeth she has.

9 Responses to “In the News:”

  1. creativedv8tion Says:

    Even I have limits. 😉

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Do you draw the line at anthro mimes, too?

  3. uhlrik Says:

    Being the youngest of nine kids in a house that over the years had numerous dogs, cats, a squirrel, rabbits, parakeets, amazon parrots, a toucan, a home-tamed crow, a sparrow-hawk, a firebelly toad, a box turtle, a big tarantula and more tends to kill squeamishness with regards to animals or much of anything else.

  4. uhlrik Says:

    Oh, we had some fish too. I just couldn’t keep the blasted things alive. My golden retriever was a much better pet.

    I can see how that would mess with some folks, though birds’ claws don’t bother me. I used to let the parrots and the absurdly affectionate conure climb on me all the time. One of the parrots, Arturo (a beautiful yellow-naped amazon with a wide vocal repertoire and a persnickety streak) would occasionally bite and follow the bite up with an evil cackle, so I was a bit less inclined to let him climb on me.

    I’ve always had an affinity for living things, and used to catch wild snaked, lizards and the like so I could hold them. I love snakes. Perhaps a little too much. A kingsnake bit me once for it, right between two of my fingers. 😉

  5. nightowl33 Says:

    How did you have room to move? Must’ve been a big house! I like animals… in the zoo or in pictures. Have actually owned 2 cats and several dogs. But, no more. The cats I got really attached to but when my oldest was born he was allergic, so they had to go. I cried. The dogs were more my husbands thing. I just ended up cleaning up after them. The last one we had was a St. Bernard… named Sebastian. He was great, but again, I was the one who ended up taking care of him and playing with him. Hubby worked all day and the kids were at school so we spent a lot of time together. Problem was he liked to go wherever we went. And when we couldn’t take him with us he got a bit of attitude and expressed his displeasure by finding something in the house to chew up. Once it was a board game he dug out from under my son’s bed. Once it was a bird ornament I had wired to the Christmas tree, and when he pulled on it, the whole tree fell over. The last straw was when he ate the sofa cushions. I was pregnant with my daughter at the time and not feeling well and that just pushed me over the edge. So we found a nice family that lived on a farm to take him. No more for me. I am done. When the kids ask, I always tell them that when they move out and get their own place they can have whatever pets they want. Do you think I am being a mean mother?

  6. uhlrik Says:

    Oh, we had a great big two-storey house out in Redlands sitting on a 3/4 acre plot. We had plenty of room (well, when I was a wee fellow and most of the kids were still living at home, it was a bit tight butlivable).

    Nah, you’re not mean. I don’t currently have any pets in my home either, though that’s got more to do with Al than with K or myself. In fact, K’s parents are taking care of her pet turtle due to the Al situation among other factors.

    Now, if only K’s mother would stop getting bigger aquariums for the little guy, he’d stop getting bigger.

  7. nightowl33 Says:

    They are one of my favorite things to look at when I go to the aquarium… those and jellyfish. Was it soft and slimy or what? I have no idea what the texture of an octopus would be. Can you describe it?

  8. creativedv8tion Says:

    I’m not one for anthropomorphic fetishes, so prolly.

    Though I think the white face paint mimes use would be sexy on a girl wearing nothing else. 😉

  9. creativedv8tion Says:

    LOL. That was cute.

Leave a Reply

