Some Classic Cinema Questions

This is my own creation, but it’s basically a bit like a number of the
memes I’ve seen around. Heck, if you want to use it as one, feel free.
I won’t stop you. Basically, I’m listing a number of either/or
selections of a number of old-school films, actors or the like, and
then bolding which I like better. I’m trying to give options between
things that are in some way related. Parenthetical explanations shall
follow where I feel like. I love true classic cinema. There are so many
more possible questions. Feel free to suggest more.

Battle of the Hepburns: Audrey or Katherine. (Audrey had that swan-neck, classic beauty and gallons of grace, but Kate had indomitable force of personality)
Character Actors: Slim Pickens or Gabby Hayes.

Antiheroes: Charles Bronson or Clint Eastwood.

Tough Guys: Robert Mitchum or Humphrey Bogart. (Nothing Mitchum ever did had the psychological intensity of Casablanca or The African Queen)

Film Noir Movies: The Maltese Falcon or Sunset Boulevard.

Bad Boys: James Dean or Marlon Brando.

Epics: The Ten Commandments (C.B. Demille) or Ben-Hur (by William Wyler).

Marxes: Groucho or Harpo. (Harpo’s
got incredible musical talents and a knack for physical comedy, but
Groucho’s got one of the sharpest wits in the movies).

Crooners: Frank Sinatra or Bing Crosby.

Hitchock Films: Rear Window or North By Northwest. (It’s the quintessential thriller, plus some of Cary Grant’s best work)

Feel-good movies: The Quiet Man or It’s a Wonderful Life.

Westerns: John Wayne or Gary Cooper.

Monster Actors: Bela Lugosi or Boris Karloff. (Another
tough one for me… I would call it evens if I could. Boris tends to
evoke a more sympathetic air for his villains, though. Plus, he was the
Grinch)

Sinister Men: Vincent Price or Peter Lorre. (EEek. I suppose Vincent was more enduring and had that incredible voice. If anything, though, Peter Lorre was creepier. Watch M, and shudder…)

Vaudeville Song-and-Dance Movies: Yankee Doodle Dandy (James Cagney) or The Seven Little Foys.(Bob Hope). (I’ve
gotta go with Cagney on this one. Though his movie rep as a tough guy
was well-erned, he always regarded himself as a song-and-dance man…
this film shows why he’s easily one of the best of those that ever
graced the screen).

Musicals: Singin’ in the Rain or Guys & Dolls. (this is a really, really tough one for me. I love the banter from Guys, but the themes of profound cultural change and finding a place within it that are prevalent in Singin’ win me over.)

Comics with dramatic chops: (who other than the Odd Couple?) Jack Lemmon or Walter Matthau.(After seeing Hitchcock’s Charade, I could rule no other way)

War Movies: Bridge on the River Kwai or The Longest Day. (Come on. It’s Sir Alec Guinness.)

Glamorous leading ladies: Joan Crawford or Greta Garbo.

One Response to “Some Classic Cinema Questions”

  1. nightowl33 Says:

    See I would be stuck on the Hepburns… love em both. Katherine does have a larger than life personality, but Audrey has that innocent, graceful beauty thing going for her. Now I agree with you on Walter Matthau (love Charade), Singin’ in the Rain, Bing, Bogart, and North by Northwest (although Rear Window is very good too).

Leave a Reply

Some Classic Cinema Questions

This is my own creation, but it’s basically a bit like a number of the
memes I’ve seen around. Heck, if you want to use it as one, feel free.
I won’t stop you. Basically, I’m listing a number of either/or
selections of a number of old-school films, actors or the like, and
then bolding which I like better. I’m trying to give options between
things that are in some way related. Parenthetical explanations shall
follow where I feel like. I love true classic cinema. There are so many
more possible questions. Feel free to suggest more.

Battle of the Hepburns: Audrey or Katherine. (Audrey had that swan-neck, classic beauty and gallons of grace, but Kate had indomitable force of personality)
Character Actors: Slim Pickens or Gabby Hayes.

Antiheroes: Charles Bronson or Clint Eastwood.

Tough Guys: Robert Mitchum or Humphrey Bogart. (Nothing Mitchum ever did had the psychological intensity of Casablanca or The African Queen)

Film Noir Movies: The Maltese Falcon or Sunset Boulevard.

Bad Boys: James Dean or Marlon Brando.

Epics: The Ten Commandments (C.B. Demille) or Ben-Hur (by William Wyler).

Marxes: Groucho or Harpo. (Harpo’s
got incredible musical talents and a knack for physical comedy, but
Groucho’s got one of the sharpest wits in the movies).

Crooners: Frank Sinatra or Bing Crosby.

Hitchock Films: Rear Window or North By Northwest. (It’s the quintessential thriller, plus some of Cary Grant’s best work)

Feel-good movies: The Quiet Man or It’s a Wonderful Life.

Westerns: John Wayne or Gary Cooper.

Monster Actors: Bela Lugosi or Boris Karloff. (Another
tough one for me… I would call it evens if I could. Boris tends to
evoke a more sympathetic air for his villains, though. Plus, he was the
Grinch)

Sinister Men: Vincent Price or Peter Lorre. (EEek. I suppose Vincent was more enduring and had that incredible voice. If anything, though, Peter Lorre was creepier. Watch M, and shudder…)

Vaudeville Song-and-Dance Movies: Yankee Doodle Dandy (James Cagney) or The Seven Little Foys.(Bob Hope). (I’ve
gotta go with Cagney on this one. Though his movie rep as a tough guy
was well-erned, he always regarded himself as a song-and-dance man…
this film shows why he’s easily one of the best of those that ever
graced the screen).

Musicals: Singin’ in the Rain or Guys & Dolls. (this is a really, really tough one for me. I love the banter from Guys, but the themes of profound cultural change and finding a place within it that are prevalent in Singin’ win me over.)

Comics with dramatic chops: (who other than the Odd Couple?) Jack Lemmon or Walter Matthau.(After seeing Hitchcock’s Charade, I could rule no other way)

War Movies: Bridge on the River Kwai or The Longest Day. (Come on. It’s Sir Alec Guinness.)

Glamorous leading ladies: Joan Crawford or Greta Garbo.

One Response to “Some Classic Cinema Questions”

  1. uhlrik Says:

    although Rear Window is very good too

    I didn’t list anything that wasn’t really good. 😀

Leave a Reply

