Majors Meme, but so much more!

Credit to and , because they won’t take checks.

You scored as Art. You should be an Art major! How bohemian!

Art

100%

Theater

100%

English

92%

Linguistics

92%

Dance

83%

Mathematics

83%

Journalism

83%

Psychology

83%

Sociology

83%

Engineering

83%

Anthropology

75%

Chemistry

75%

Biology

67%

Philosophy

58%

What is your Perfect Major? (PLEASE RATE ME!!<3)
created with QuizFarm.com

One wrinkle in this quiz is that I’m deeply interested in so many topics that I got high scores in almost every major on the list because I answered on the agree end of the scale for most questions. The top three here, though, are in fact the 3 I considered most seriously.

The dead bottom spot is also unsurprising for a number of reasons. I hold many of the famous philosophers (and most philosophy majors I’ve known) in a certain degree of disdain. All that effort, expended just to miss the point. It’s religion found in a crackerjack box while drunk. Now, I do believe in having a philosophy as in a system of beliefs that informs your actions and words. What I don’t care much for is ‘academic philosophy’ because I believe that reason, while highly valuable, cannot reach the truth alone. Hence, I have a fundamental disconnect with what is arguably that discipline’s most exalted premise. Reason is one important tool among many. IMNSHO, Reason alone leads to the self-important jackassery that is collegiate philosophy rather than to valuable insights. If your only tool is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.

Oh, as an aside, I don’t consider myself bohemian. The American College Dictionary defines it as “a person with artistic or intellectual tendencies, who lives and acts with no regard for conventional rules of behavior.” I am a person with both artistic and intellectual tendencies, and I hold many now-conventional rules of behavior in great disdain. Yet I do not subscribe to the bohemian artist/intellectual subctulture or its associated mores and conventions (yes, it has many conventions). I do live with a regard for things like honesty, kindness and ethics, and I firmly believe in things like the traditional nuclear family. I personally am not in the least attracted to the substance abuse (nicotene, alcohol, caffeine, prescription or illegal drugs) that are endemic in the bohemian subculture. Part of the dictionary definition applies to me, the subculture itself with its mores, habits and politics in general do not.

Leave a Reply

