Aron’s Records haul

There’s a hip little record shop called Aron’s Records not too far from my place that kinda specializes in used stuff (though they carry new stuff too) – they’re pretty much a smaller cousin of Amoeba. Regrettably, they’re folding sometime in February or early March. Fortunately, they’re offering steep discounts leading up to that, and maybe going to get steeper towards the end of next month. So I took my sister-in-law there today (K’s at work so she couldn’t go) and we raided the place. M’s a pretty serious music buff, so she’s handy on occasions like this though I occasionally get to introduce her to new stuff too (I pointed out The Music to her today – she’s big on brit pop/rock).

When I’m there, I tend to pick up stuff I can’t find elsewhere, like but wouldn’t normally buy, or to plug up holes in my collection rather than making major album grabs since those tend to be closer to regular price.

The musical Haul:

Jimmy Eat World – Futures ($4.89)
Sting – Ten Summoners’ Tales ($4.19)
Creed – Weathered ($4.19)
The Mighty Mighty Bosstones – Pay Attention ($3.49)
The Cranberries – Wake Up ($3.49)
Jewel – This Way ($2.79)
Semisonic – The Best of Semisonic ($2.79) (Hey, K was a fan of theirs as a teen)

Also!
I found a DVD of the Akira Kurosawa/Toshiro Mifune classic The Hidden Fortress for $10.49

I win.

20 Responses to “Aron’s Records haul”

  1. creativedv8tion Says:
  2. chrissiez Says:

    I like The Music πŸ™‚

    Anyone else you’re recomment from that genre?

  3. creativedv8tion Says:

    More like those genre…

  4. creativedv8tion Says:

    More like those genre…

  5. uhlrik Says:

    Lately, my primary britpop/rock feed has been Keane, Morrissey/The Smiths, The Killers (they’re technically not britpop cause they’re from Vegas, but in practice they are), Dogs Die in Hot Cars, Doves, Straylight Run, Modest Mouse, Franz Ferdinand, Belle & Sebastian, Razorlight, The Music and Oasis.

    A few to particularly check out are Dogs Die in Hot Cars, Doves and Bell & Sebastian. They’re not as well known so you’re less likely to randomly catch them on the radio.

    If you can catch a listen of The Kaiser Chiefs, I recommend them as well. I don’t own any of their stuff yet but what I’ve heard, I’ve liked. Their main song I’ve heard was I predict a Riot

  6. uhlrik Says:

    Lately, my primary britpop/rock feed has been Keane, Morrissey/The Smiths, The Killers (they’re technically not britpop cause they’re from Vegas, but in practice they are), Dogs Die in Hot Cars, Doves, Straylight Run, Modest Mouse, Franz Ferdinand, Belle & Sebastian, Razorlight, The Music and Oasis.

    A few to particularly check out are Dogs Die in Hot Cars, Doves and Bell & Sebastian. They’re not as well known so you’re less likely to randomly catch them on the radio.

    If you can catch a listen of The Kaiser Chiefs, I recommend them as well. I don’t own any of their stuff yet but what I’ve heard, I’ve liked. Their main song I’ve heard was I predict a Riot

  7. uhlrik Says:

    The Music is britpop.

  8. uhlrik Says:

    The Music is britpop.

  9. creativedv8tion Says:

    Oh, so “BritPop” means “any band I feel like grouping together, regardless if they’re from Britain or not… or even if they’re more Alt Rock with a New Wave feel”.

    Gotcha.

    Dork.

  10. creativedv8tion Says:

    Oh, so “BritPop” means “any band I feel like grouping together, regardless if they’re from Britain or not… or even if they’re more Alt Rock with a New Wave feel”.

    Gotcha.

    Dork.

  11. creativedv8tion Says:

    That’s funny, I don’t see any of ’em listed here πŸ˜‰

    And Creed isn’t Britpop, no matter how bad you wanna call ’em that.

  12. uhlrik Says:

    Creed isn’t. They’re rock. I never said this whole list of stuff was britpop. As for The Music, they’re pop and they’re british. Good enough for me.

    As for that Wikipedia list… it’s not complete. I love wikipedia, but it’s not the fount of all knowledge.

  13. uhlrik Says:

    it means british pop bands. I add the Killers because they try so hard to be Morrissey.

  14. creativedv8tion Says:

    And as for the wiki list… did you notice the πŸ˜‰ I put next to it?

    That’s b/c I consider Wiki to be a shot in the dark on accuracy.

    *sigh*

    Man, I even put a smiley wink, and I STILL gotta explain the joke…sheesh

  15. creativedv8tion Says:

    Disregard my comment; I didn’t notice the capitalisation of “The Music”, so I thought we were talking about the music in general, b/c I understood the previous commenter to be discussing the list of the music in general. πŸ˜›

  16. uhlrik Says:

    I prolly should’ve italicized it or something.

  17. creativedv8tion Says:

    Nah. They should’ve just come up with a better name for their band.

    I’m gonna call myself “The Story” when I make it big as an author. πŸ˜›

  18. creativedv8tion Says:

    Nah. They should’ve just come up with a better name for their band.

    I’m gonna call myself “The Story” when I make it big as an author. πŸ˜›

  19. uhlrik Says:

    Their name seemed witty and amusing for something like .00000000005 seconds after I heard it, then I was, like… eh. That’ll confuse people in an annoying way. Their music (small m) isn’t bad, though.

  20. uhlrik Says:

    Their name seemed witty and amusing for something like .00000000005 seconds after I heard it, then I was, like… eh. That’ll confuse people in an annoying way. Their music (small m) isn’t bad, though.

Leave a Reply

