Nothing new here.

I already knew the technical meanings, but this’s interesting.. pointed this out to me again.

Discover the hidden meaning in your name

Hal

Lord of the manor : Teutonic
Army power : Norse

Peaceful, poised and understanding you do not let anyone or anything
disturb your innate calm. You are tolerant of others no matter how
their behaviours or beliefs differ from your own. Not attached to
material or worldly affairs you are free to express your true self.
Displaying great wisdom and serenity people are naturally drawn to you
for guidance and counsel. Your courage and presence of mind see you
through any adversity.

Interesting interpretation, I think. It holds up fairly well. I do
firmly believe in upholding the rights of others to disagree with me,
even though I must fiercely uphold, expound and defend my own views. I
do hold my calm when others are rying to anger me and when crisis
situations arise, going into tactical mode instead of freaking. Money
isn’t particularly important to me (witness my choice of career), and
people in my life have a habit of turning to me for advice and
leadership.

3 Responses to “Nothing new here.”

  1. kurosau Says:

    Mine has, and always will show up as ‘protector of all mankind’, even though it’s really just greek for ‘fairhaired’. And given that I have thick, dark hair, I’m going to embrace the original inspiration for my name. I was born the same night as a rerun of Roots. So, either I should conquer the known world, and then cry, or just watch TV. Guess what my name is…

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Alexander.

  3. kurosau Says:

    Close, but wrong. It’s actually Bocephus, after Euphajania Bocephus, the ghost writer that assisted Alexander Haley in composing roots. Name so for the Bocephus the Arrogant, a warlord that conquered the known world sometime BC, it’s a common misconception.

Leave a Reply

