A Query

Folks, if you have a few moments to spare, I’ve got a question for ya
(even if you don’t, but in that case you won’t answer so no worries).
This question arose when I  was submitting the files to make Poo Bah available as a print (note: barring some complication, it should be approved and available by some time tomorrow).

What , if any, artworks that presently exist in my DevArt gallery do you think I should make available as prints via my store there?

I’ve got a fair # up already, but I am curious as to what pieces y’all
would recommend. Now, I don’t exactly sell much work via DevArt, but I
like to have the things available in case somebody wants something, and
their prints are supposedly ace quality. Also, if I wish to arrange a
pretty gift of my art for someone, I could do worse than to do it
through DevArt and recoup some of the expense. 😉

4 Responses to “A Query”

  1. nightowl33 Says:

    Wow. Well done you. You have a heck of alot of artwork in your DevArt gallery to go thru. Now I am not knowledgeable about art, but I will tell you which were my favorites. Most of your work scares me to be frank, but here are my faves in no particular order:

    Ulrik WoD
    Tip of the Hat
    From the Darkness
    Zed or Simeon
    Red, Green, and Sepia trouble
    40K Pax Imperialis collage
    The Adeptus Mechanicus
    40K Warriors collage
    Fern Dell (what a magical looking place!)
    Imitation of Life: Reaching (and Leisure)
    Untitled Green no 1
    also liked the self portraits and the Conlon pix

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Wow. Well done you.
    Thankee! And thank you for answering my question!

    Now I am not knowledgeable about art
    My questioned did not presume knowledge about art. It presumed opinions. You’re very qualified. 🙂

    Most of your work scares me to be frank
    What is it about it that scares you? I’m always very interested in the emotional reactions viewers have towards my work.

    I’ll go over the ones you mention and comment on each and why it may or may not be in my store.

    Ulrik WoD -He’s available already. I like that one. 🙂

    Tip of the Hat – I’ll see if I can get this one to go up. It doesn’t have a large pixel count and I don’t have a larger version (the original is quite small), so it won’t be suitable for large prints.

    From the Darkness Good call! I really ought to make a bigger scan of this piece so I can put it as a print. I’ve still got the original, after all, and it’s a linocut I’m very proud of.

    Zed or Simeon I like this piece. It’s got a small pixel count, and unfortuantely I no longer have the original to make a bigger scan and manip from since the sketchbook it’s in was stolen. I don’t think I can really put this up credibly.

    Red, Green, and Sepia trouble These are good candidates. I still have the originals too. Well, except green. It’s a photomanip from the others. 😉

    40K Pax Imperialis collage, The Adeptus Mechanicus, 40K Warriors collage
    These I really can’t sell prints of, as far as I’m concerned. They each incorporate a large number of copyrighted images. It wouldn’t be ethical to sell it IMO.

    Fern Dell, Imitation of Life: Reaching (and Leisure)
    I love the place too. These were digital photos so there’s no larger version to scan or submit. It’d be limited to small-scale prints, which would really best be handled via standard digital photo printing methods.

    Untitled Green no 1 This one I can do. I even have a larger pic of it already (since the painting was a gift I made for somebody, I made sure to get one).

    also liked the self portraits and the Conlon pix Thank you very much! The drawings could certainly work, and I have the originals. I’m a little leery of selling prints of the Conlon pix since she’s a practicing artist in the field herself and I was the model rather than the one behind the camera. Plus I don’t know as anybody’d want to buy photos of a 16-year-old, bald me. 😉

  3. nightowl33 Says:

    I have to say, I wasn’t necessarily picking out pieces that would do well as prints. I understand copyright issues, and the Conlon pix, as you noted, were done by someone else. These are just my faves, the ones that spoke to me- or grabbed my attention because of the color, texture or composition.

    What I meant by your work scaring me I guess is mainly the subject matter. It’s all so dark and dangerous and well, scary. Like the stuff of nightmares. I should qualify this by saying that this comes from someone who is not now and never has been a gamer, so I am not used to such brutish, well- armed subjects:-) The man in “Tip of the Hat”, on the other hand, looks like he could be a gentleman. And I really liked his clothing. “Untitled Green no 1” is very modern and I love modern. Anything from the early 20th century on… umm, I like Miro and Kandinsky, but I also have an affinity for pieces that look very “art nouveau”, like Maxfield Parrish or Kay Nielson, or Walter Crane. I am a big fan of Dale Chihuly and there is an artist who does these floral paintings that look just amazing, named Vangelis. (hard to remember names right now– I need to go back to bed!) In the past several months my taste has been changing, well maybe not changing, just growing. Especially since Ria got me hooked on Deviant Art and Epilogue. Those sites have really opened up a new world to me. I had no idea there was so much fantasy art out there. I can’t get enough of it. And of course I love to look at the photos on those and on Flickr.

    I have always liked bold contrast and I think that is what drew me to “From the Darkness.” Very nicely done even though it is rather scary. And collage has always been a fave. The last art class I took I made a collage I was particularly proud of. I no longer have it because the teacher asked to keep it to show students in her next classes and I never got it back. Oh well.

  4. uhlrik Says:

    I have to say, I wasn’t necessarily picking out pieces that would do well as prints.

    Totally fair enough, though I had to address that particular issue. I like that you picked what you like rather than simply based on likely sales potential. That’s really more important anyhow to me.

    What I meant by your work scaring me I guess is mainly the subject matter. It’s all so dark and dangerous and well, scary. Like the stuff of nightmares.
    That makes sense. I do go for a sense of menace, because while I love fantasy and scifi art, so much of what I see out there feels all chipper and harmless… and if one really takes a look at what the characters in these settings do, it is hardy harmless or happy. It is nasty, brutal and vicious, even when it’s being done with exalted motives behind it. I prefer to depict people that carry the psychic scars of having had to deliberately inflict pain on others rather than the shiney “innocent” fantasy types because I think that image is a heinous lie. As for nightmares… I have an abiding fascination with nightmares.

    The man in “Tip of the Hat”, on the other hand, looks like he could be a gentleman.
    Actually, he’s a bit of a cad, albeit a charming and well-dressed one. He’s very different from my more common brooding figures though, which is fun to do. He was a chance to show a touch of my flamboyance and humor.

    The artists you mention being fond of are, for the most part, ones I’m interested in as well. Kay Nielsen and Walter Crane are particular favorites from your list. Keep on looking at art! It’s a good thing. *nods*

    I’m drawn to strong light-to-dark contrast as well. One of the most common comments that my paintings (very, very few of which are posted online) gather is that their handling of lights and darks gives them a sense of drama. I like drama, which is why I tend to go for that sort of thing.

    Collage is fun and freeing. It’s a nice diversion from my usual forms of work once in a while.

Leave a Reply

