It’s like writing a letter to the sky…

That’s how I feel when I remind my department manager of my longstanding availability (IE, the times when I cannot be at work, which have not changed in months). Every single scheduling cycle (3 weeks) when I look at the new schedule sheet, at least one of those days (usually more) that I can’t work due to my school schedule has a shift squatting malevolently on it. So either this woman doesn’t care or she is pathologically incapable of reading or remembering what’s written right in front of her. Either way, she should have learned by now that I won’t skip school for her because I never have.

At least this time she didn’t try to drag me in there on a Sunday… I hope she’s finally realized that winning that battle is impossible since I’d rather lose my job than work Sundays. That shouldn’t be hard since I’ve told her so in those precise terms. Heck, being free Sundays was one of the non-negotiable conditions on which I took this job in the first place.

Man, I’m looking forward to getting shifted back to my old department at the tail end of December. They always treated me better there, and I know they want me back. Heck, they didn’t want the brass to move me in the first place.

6 Responses to “It’s like writing a letter to the sky…”

  1. nightowl33 Says:

    Where I work, I can’t go on vacation if I don’t have my shift covered for each night that I would be scheduled to work. I do have a supervisor, and I do get 2 weeks paid a year, but when I want off I have to put in for the days I require then hope and pray and cross my fingers that someone signs up to work for me. Cause if they don’t, then I am responsible for the time that isn’t covered. That means I could be required to return early from a trip or even not be able to go. Argh!

  2. uhlrik Says:

    Yes, every job has very special reasons it can be said to suck. The one I’m trying to get into (rather than the one I’m doing now) is notorious for financial instability as the cost of creative… creativity, and the further cost of being surrounded by sniping, fake people. Which latter is why I recommend packing a chainsaw.

  3. nightowl33 Says:

    Chainsaw… too close and messy. Why not just set a bomb. Then you don’t have to be there.

  4. uhlrik Says:

    It’s much harder to claim that a bomb is performance art, though perhaps time-based art could apply…

    Anyway, messy and being there are both important parts of the point when dealing with the snotty and pretentious.

  5. nightowl33 Says:

    *giggles* “time-based art” ? that’s stretching it don’t you think? 🙂

  6. uhlrik Says:

    Sadly, given my experience in and as a member of the art world, no.

Leave a Reply

