To Give Thanks

So, that day’s over and yes, I have been reflecting on what I am
thankful for. I try to do this regularly anyhow, but it’s nice to have
another excuse. Anyhow, here’s a short list.

Here are a few things. Save for the first, they’re in no particular order.

  • I doubt I need to elaborate on this one.
  • My health. It ain’t perfect, but all things considered I am a healthy, whole and reasonably fit man.

  • Yesterday and today, I was reminded forcefully of just how amazing,
    self-sacrificing and strong my mother is. She dropped all Thanksgiving
    plans wednesday and hopped on a train to New Mexico because she had
    just gotten word that my sister was admitted to the hospital there and
    her baby needs looking after. For K and I, keeping my father company in
    her absence was the least thanks we could give them.
  • Clarity of thought and capacity to learn and retain knowledge. The education to appreciate and develop these.
  • The many chances I have to help others learn.
  • Artistic talents and skills, and the eyes I have to appreciate them.
  • Shelter, food, warmth. The basic animal necessities. I’m grateful that I have these covered, when so many are not so fortunate.

Leave a Reply

